Finding Yourself: The Emotional Journey of Mulan’s ‘Reflection’


Language focus:
Use of modal verbs: “will” and “would” in Mulan’s lyrics conveys uncertainty and longing, as she wonders when she will be able to show her true self to others and be accepted for who she is.
Use of adjective clauses: to provide additional detail and description, such as “which explores the internal struggle of the main character Mulan” and “that highlights the struggle of self-discovery and acceptance”.

“Reflection” is a powerful song from the Disney movie Mulan, which explores the internal struggle of the main character Mulan. The song is a reflection of Mulan’s innermost thoughts and feelings as she tries to understand who she is and what she wants to be.

The opening lines of the song, “Look at me, I will never pass for a perfect bride, or a perfect daughter,” highlight Mulan’s feelings of inadequacy and failure in meeting the expectations of her family and society. She feels like she is not living up to the standards set for her, and she is constantly struggling to find her place in the world.

As the song progresses, Mulan questions herself and wonders if she will ever be able to show her true self to others. She sings, “When will my reflection show who I am inside?” She wants to be accepted for who she is, rather than conforming to the expectations of others.

The chorus of the song is particularly poignant, as Mulan realizes that she has been hiding her true self for too long. She sings, “I am now in a world where I have to hide my heart, and what I believe in, but somehow I will show the world what’s inside my heart, and be loved for who I am.”

Mulan | Disney Princess

Overall, “Reflection” is a powerful and emotional song that highlights the struggle of self-discovery and acceptance. Mulan’s journey to find herself is one that many people can relate to, and the song serves as a reminder to be true to yourself, even in the face of adversity.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started